

Your ref: Our ref: Date: 15 March 2019

Dear Clerk/Chair

Parish Member appointments to the National Park Authority 2019

I am writing to advise you of the arrangements for these appointments following the Parish Council Elections in May 2019 when the appointments of 4 Parish Members expire.

The Environment Act 1995 provides for Parish Members to be selected from the Parish Councils and Parish Meetings within the area of the National Park.

The process will be by nomination and ballot within the electoral areas in 3 constituencies which is the same as that used in previous years.

East Sussex All Parishes wholly or partly in the East Sussex area of the SDNP. Two Members

West Sussex All Parishes wholly or partly in the West Sussex area of the SDNP. Two Members

Nominations

The Nomination forms will be issued to each Parish Council and Parish Meeting by post on **Monday 13 May 2019**. Following the elections on the 2 May 2019 a Parish Council or Parish Meeting may nominate a Parish Councillor or a Parish Meeting Chairman. Nominations will only be accepted on the official Nomination form. I recommend that your Council or Meeting approves any nomination.

There are statutory provisions that apply to Parish Members of a National Park Authority which will be set out in the Nomination form. A candidate must be eligible for appointment and not disqualified under these provisions. A candidate will be able to submit with their Nomination Form an election address limited to 150 words.

The closing date for the return of completed Nomination Forms will be Friday 24 May 2019.

If there are the same as or fewer candidates than the number of appointments, then the candidates will be elected unopposed. If the number of candidates exceeds the number of appointments then a poll will be conducted as set out below.

<u>Voting</u>

One Ballot Paper and the candidates' election statements will be issued by post to each Parish Council and Parish Meeting on **Monday 10 June 2019**

The closing date for the return of completed Ballot Papers will be Monday 24th June (photocopies will not be accepted).

The advice of DEFRA is that the nomination and voting procedures should be as transparent and democratically accountable as possible. It is recommended that a Parish Council's or Parish Meeting's vote is decided in open session of a Council meeting or the Parish Meeting (as the case my be).

You will appreciate that this is a very tight timetable and all closing dates must be met in order for new members to be invited to the AGM of the National Park on 2nd July. <u>There is no provision for</u> <u>the late receipt of Nomination Forms or Ballot Papers.</u> It is important therefore that you bear these closing dates in mind when planning the dates for your meetings in May and June and if necessary give delegated authority to your Clerk to respond following consultation with Members. You should also allow sufficient time for postal delays.

Details of the venue for the count will be advised no later than 2 weeks before the date of the count. All Candidates will be invited to observe the count. Once completed SSALC will contact the successful candidates and publish the results on the Authority website. The names will then be forwarded to the Department of the Environment, Food & Rural Affairs for the formal appointment letters to be issued.

Authority Members are expected to regularly attend meetings of the Authority, any Committees that they have been appointed to, as well as training and briefing sessions. Members are expected to attend at least 75% of meetings. These are held during the working day at the South Downs Centre, Midhurst. There is obviously a considerable time commitment involved in being a Member of the Authority which in some cases could be three or four days a month. Candidates will have to take this into account when seeking a nomination.

More information about the National Park Authority, Members and Committee meetings can be obtained from the website <u>www.southdowns.gov.uk</u>

Yours sincerely

Enc:

Guidance for appointment of members to The South Downs National Park Authority